I love HostHoot

I just started this blog today to document my WP.org journey.  My debacles and successes.  Maybe learn something?  Really the successes aren’t mine.  I just break things.  Big time.  For a year now.  I should have started this a long time ago.

Let’s talk web hosts.  The best web hosting and tech support I have ever had, for almost nothing no less, is HostHoot.com.  

I cannot thank them enough.  Again, and again, and again.  It is embarrassing.

They have worked hard to keep my sites online and in one piece no matter how many times I have broken them.  And I mean broken in major ways.  Massive file moves, backups, restoration, migration, going into the backend to undo plugins, run scripts and how-tos I found on forums.  They have spent hours on my stuff regardless of the fact the issues are not hosting related. It is incredible.  They respond quickly and keep on your problem until it is resolved – over days.  Even though it is a problem with WordPress, or one I caused with a WP plugin.  I don’t ask them to do those things.  It is not their job, at all – but they never hesitate to immerse themselves into the abyss.  They have never tried to brush me off.

The price?  Unbelievable. (And $12.99 annual domain register option.)

Amazing Hosting

AS LOW AS $1.99/MO

  • UNLIMITED BANDWIDTH
  • UNLIMITED SUB-DOMAINS
  • UNLIMITED MYSQL DATABASES
  • UNLIMITED FTP ACCOUNTS
  • 24/7 SUPPORT
  • 1-CLICK WORDPRESS INSTALL
  • 99.9% UPTIME
  • UP TO 10 DOMAINS

“Free Hosting?”  Don’t Bother Anymore

I have heavily investigated “free” hosting over the years.  I do free.  Especially with software and the web.  I am not tech savvy, but I am all about Open Source.  My sites are not important, but I like one and use heavily use the other.  They are not worth paying for.  $2 a month is doable.  “Free” is pretty much a thing of the past.

I had 6-7 free hosting/domain encounters last year.  The main problem that kept me moving was AT&T blacklisting the free domains.  It was maddening.  I could create a site, then it would be blocked after a few days.  But only blocked from my house.  Starbucks or anywhere else, I could access it. That is a huge long saga I do not want to think about.  I found a couple of good free hosts, but there were severe limitations in space and support response – but it was free.  The majority of “free” hosting now is lame, very trixies.

And no, I get no perks for my endorsement.  Just very grateful.

Leave a Reply

